RE General Discussion

Feel free to talk about anything and everything about renewable energy in this board. From reasons for using alternative energy to general questions on types of systems are right for your needs.

topics

Subject Started by Replies

Solar Chicken Coop

I am building a chicken coop in northern New Mexico, it will be fairly efficient; straw bale walls minimal windows E and W a goo...
Dylan Moore 5

Solar Air Conditioners???

Air-conditioning accounts for the major portion of my electricity usage during the summer months. Since evaporative cooling is i...
John B 8

Solar Absorber Coatings

I am doing my PhD in solar absorber coatings to be used in parabolic trough coleectors of solar thermal power plants. I want to ...
Muhammad Sana Ullah Khan 0

Sol-R-Beam Water Heater

Help! We are looking to repair a Sol-R-Beam water heater that was installed in 1985. It looks like a pretty straight forwartd re...
Richard Tuttle 3

Sol-R-Beam

I have acquired a Sol-R-Beam water heater and need any technical information available on it.  Does anyone know a resource ...
Linda Bugg 0

Sodium chloride usage to store 250 kwh/m3 of solar heat.

I have assembled a little system to store 250 kwh/m3 of solar heat. Solar heat is stored through the heat of fusion of the s...
Javier Ramirez 0

so totally new to alternative energy

I am reading on ine here and ther trying to determine what can i do to use some solar and some wind, perhaps wter too. We get ab...
Dave P 0

snow on solar panel

This must be a problem for anyone in the Northeast: what to do about snow on the photovoltaic panels? We've been climbing a ladd...
Ellen Beberman 2

Smallest PV size for Grid Tie

I'm toying with the idea of a small, i.e. about half a kW, solar array on my house and am wondering what is out there for s...
Jonathan Hunt 3

Small Solar System

Hello, I bought ten 15 watt panels from Canadian Tire (The Eliminator ones...12v and 1amp).  I also bought two dee...
Patrick Guenette 25