Jon C's posts

Posted by Jon C on Feb 15, 2014 09:50 am

#1 -  Renewable Energy > Technical Discussion: Solar Electric System - Photovoltaic > Solar PV water heat
Joseph, for some reason, the site would not allow me to reply to your post, so I am posting my reply in this manner.  I have been using solar PV water heat for several years now with excellent results and no problems.  I am using 50vdc from 4 solar panels in series through a 120v/1200W lower element in a standard 30 gallon electric water heater.  The element has a resistance of 10 ohms, which passes 5 amps of current from 50vdc.  This is 250 watts of heating power.  (The upper element is still available for AC usage for emergency heat should the DC heat fail.)  I use a relay operated by the standard thermostat in the water heater to switch the 50vdc in and out of the heating element.   You cannot use the thermostat for directly switching DC power to the heater element because the DC will ionize the thermostat gap and will burn the thermostat contacts.  Thus the use of a switching relay to buffer the thermostat.  Any further questions, feel free to contact me at  JonChristenson @ msn.com   :-)

Posted by Jon C on Aug 20, 2013 12:43 pm

#2 -  Renewable Energy > Technical Discussion: Other > Re: How much is too much?
Ken, I made an error in the last post.  I intended to suggest adding only half the amount of additional panels, or four panels, not two.  This would theoretically produce 50 amps of charging current for the battery bank, and not overload the 60 amp charge controller. 

Posted by Jon C on Aug 20, 2013 12:10 pm

#3 -  Renewable Energy > Technical Discussion: Other > Re: How much is too much?