Evergreen Solar EC115 for sailboat

6 Posts
Dec 10, 2006 06:58 pm
Evergreen Solar EC115 for sailboat

Thinking about purchasing this, the special which includes the regulator.  https://store.altenergystore.com/Solar-Electric-Panels/100-to-149-Watts-Solar-Panels/Buy-Two-Evergreen-Solar-115W-Solar-Panels-Get-a-Phocos-Charge-C/p4456/

I have very little knowledge about solar power systems and need some help here.  This is for use on a sailboat.  I have 450 amp hour deep cycle flooded batteries.  I realize this won't meet all my energy requirements.

Questions:
Is this all I will need for a solar charger for my batteries (not counting wiring, screws, etc.)?

Can the panel be used in a marine environment?

Can the charger be located remotely (2 meters) from the panel (gets it out of the marine environment)?

Anything else I need to know?

578 Posts
Dec 11, 2006 12:16 pm
Re: Evergreen Solar EC115 for sailboat

Evergreen Modules are great, but they have a couple things that will not make them ideal for a sailboat.  first, they have no specific marine rating, unlike a kyocera.  Second they do not tolerate shading very well, unlike a unisolar. 

For sailboat situations, we usually suggest a kyocera or a unisolar.  Many have used evergreen modules on sailboats with no problems, the choice is yours.

Regarding the controller, it is important to know that it is a positive ground unit.  Here in the united states, the negative is usally the grounded conducter.  Especially on boats and RVs , positive ground can cause problems if grounding is necessary.

from phocos manual - "Be aware that the positive terminals of the CX controller are connected internally and therefore have the same electrical potential.  If any grounding is required, always do this on the positive wires."