Trying to find a car I read about, but I have a bad memory.

6 Posts
Sep 30, 2007 10:17 pm
Trying to find a car I read about, but I have a bad memory.

Okay, this question isn't about renewable energy, but it does involve the 'Save the Planet' concept, so I'm hoping people won't be too upset.

I read about a car in a magazine a while back.  It had a "normal" gas-powered engine, but was only about 8 feet long and got about 70MPG when driven the way car manufacturers test their cars.  Not a lot of information, I know, but I'm hoping it's enough for people to help me track down the car.

The guy and his girlfriend made a multi-day trip across a portion of the United States, then wrote an article for a magazine.  I'm certain I have a subscription to that magazine, yet I don't know which magazine it is.  In the order of magazines I think are most likely to have the article to mag that I think is least likely to have the article, they are...

Popular Mechanics
Popular Science
Wired
Discover

I don't necessarily need the precise article, if you want to guess, or know of another car whose gas mileage is based on small size and/or low weight for volume, I'd love to hear about it.

I'm about to peruse the site.  I figured my question was off-topic to the point where the answer probably wouldn't already be here, but if I happen to find it, or something similar, I'll save people the trouble and come back to this thread. Smiley

163 Posts
Oct 1, 2007 11:02 am
Re: Trying to find a car I read about, but I have a bad memory.

I read about a car in a magazine a while back.  It had a "normal" gas-powered engine, but was only about 8 feet long and got about 70MPG when driven the way car manufacturers test their cars.  Not a lot of information, I know, but I'm hoping it's enough for people to help me track down the car.

It was probably a SMART car made in Europe by Daimler-Chrysler. Introduction to the US has been delayed and the engine will be larger and thus a lower mpg.