Question about solar hot water heating

2 Posts
Jun 17, 2006 09:37 pm
Question about solar hot water heating

This is probably a stupid question and i apologize ahead of time.  My only excuse is that I am new to this (solar energy).  Can I connect an individual collector(s) into my water storage tank that I have right now or do I need a solar water storage tank?

Also, what square footage would I need?  Is there a forumla I can use to determine this?

I am sure there are a bunch of things that I have omitted.  If there is anything else needed, just ask and feel free to tell me/link to things that I should know about but don't.

Thank you.

Jun 18, 2006 01:14 pm
Re: Question about solar hot water heating

Sure. Whats known as a "breadbox" batch solar water heater can go inline on the cold water side before your conventional water heater. A word of caution though, there has to be freeze protection if the region you reside in has freezing temperatures in the winter months. This would true of any solar water heater unless it incorporated a double wall heat exchanger and a solution that does not freeze such as silicon oil or antifreeze. As for sizing, that would depend on just how much you want to produce in a day. If you just want to heat a pool or, potable water or, if you want to heat your home or, just reduce the fuel or electric bill. Check out - kingsolar.com they have schematics of sample systems with explanations as well as prices.

2 Posts
Jun 20, 2006 12:26 am
Re: Question about solar hot water heating

>Sure. Whats known as a "breadbox" batch
>solar water heater can go inline
>on the cold water side before
>your conventional water heater. A word
>of caution though, there has to
>be freeze protection if the region
>you reside in has freezing temperatures
>in the winter months. This would
>true of any solar water heater
>unless it incorporated a double wall
>heat exchanger and a solution that
>does not freeze such as silicon
>oil or antifreeze. As for sizing,