Diversion Loads/Dump Loads

3 Posts
Nov 19, 2007 08:21 pm
Diversion Loads/Dump Loads

I am an electro-mechanical technician by profession for almost three decades now, so don't really consider myself 'In the Dark' about theory of green energy, but of all the sites I have researched I have not found any that offer technical explanation of hybrid systems that incorporate wind, solar and hydro sources. Specifically, I would like more enlightenment on charge controllers that can accept various power inputs and about diversion loads/dump loads that i see as optional. Why is the latter optional and could they also be implemented with solar water heaters since they appear to be heater elements. Controlled by thermostat or charge controller? Looking for informative sites for A-Z instructions on building off-grid system I can add onto.

578 Posts
Nov 20, 2007 11:25 am
Re: Diversion Loads/Dump Loads

i have no a-z instructions for you, but

photovoltaic charge controllers do not require dump loads.

wind controllers usually come with the turbine, but if you have a home-made or other smaller unit, you will need a diversion load controller (morningstar tristar, xantrex c-series) and a diversion load.  the diversion load must be able to handle the power from the source and are often required in duplicate (both controller and dump load) by code in case of failure of one.

hydro is much the same as above with the exception that no hydro comes with controller provieded by manufacturer to my knowledge.  all will require dump load controller and dump load usually in duplicate for safety.  these can be resistive loads to air, or to water for heating.

batteries and (off grid) inverters dont care where energy comes from as long as it is regulated and in the paramaters for its proper operation.

james Alt-E staff

AltE
"Making Renewable Do-able"
http://www.altEstore.com/

Tel: 877.878.4060 x107  or +1.978.562.5858 x107
Fax: 877.242.6718  or +1.978.562.5854

28 Posts