877-878-4060
Home / Charge Controllers / Solar Charge Controllers / PWM Solar Charge Controllers / Xantrex C40 Solar Charge Controller 40A, 12/24/48V / All reviews

Xantrex C40 Solar Charge Controller 40A, 12/24/48VWrite a review

C40 controller by WILLIE COLLINS
Date Added: December 27, 2006
Already using one on another system. Got another for my office. Excellent controller for the money! Quality product.
Rating:
Date Added: December 27, 2006
Just like my Trace C35, this unit is dead simple to install and configure. The manual is clear and well laid out. I am using this unit to manage the power coming from a small microhydro generator I built using a 4" plastic pelton wheel (also acquired from the alt energy store).
Rating:
Extremely Reliable by Mark Hirst
Date Added: January 01, 2015
Ive had a Rev-A unit in continuous operation since June 2000 at a remote cabin site on a small 300W 12V solar panel system charging a pair of Rolls CH375 batteries. The batteries are still going strong after 14 years.

If you cant afford a MPPT controller this is definitely the way to go. Even if you can afford a MPPT controller this might be a better choice for its ability to start/remain operating in low light conditions that can cause MPPT controllers to drop out.
Rating:
Wonderful by Michael Riewer
Date Added: September 16, 2008
If you cannot yet afford a MPPT controller this is the route to go. Super simple setup, clearly labeled positive and negative terminals and a thorough, quality owners manual(something that is hard to come by these days!) This unit, coupled with a battery temp sensor and CM faceplate will take your off grid system to the next level from those basic charge controllers.
Rating:
Date Added: October 02, 2008
I installed this in a portable solar generator (3600 watt system) and it works great for this type of application. The small size is the key as in a transportable/portable application, space is at a premium. Easy to install and set. Cost is also a key factor.
Rating:
Date Added: December 28, 2006
I have had two of these controllers on my PV array, each one quit working in about 3 years. The first one I thought might have gotten overloaded by a nearby lightening strike, but the second one just quit working…….no storms in the area. I am only using the 40A unit at about ½ capacity.
Rating:
LOTS OF CORROSION by No spam
Date Added: April 07, 2010
Ive had my Xantrex C40 Charge Controller for about 4 years now. I am loading it with about 12A input on good days (into 2 batteries that have been sitting inactive for quite awhile)...so it has definitely had an easy life. Now at 4 years it will NOT work anymore. I have noticed about 5 areas where corrosion has built up on small areas of the board. Junk now.....I had it mounted horizontal inside the house. I am getting another today (only because I cant see throwing an OPTIONAL $80+ LCD display unit away)So Ive found these C40s online now for $119 plus $10 shipping.....wont sting so bad this time :) I WILL be mounting this one VERTICAL and inside another housing WITH silicon dessicant or similar moisture removal system!! J.U.N.K otherwise!! Beware.......................
Rating:
Click here for BBB Business Review ASE NESEA Member
Paypal Visa MasterCard Amex Discover
McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams