John B's posts

Posted by John B on May 21, 2009 10:46 am

#1 -  Renewable Energy > Technical Discussion: Other > Re: Solar recirculating pump system for solar pool heater.
Dan,

I don't know, as I only use it to circulate fresh water. Your best bet is to get answers direct from the manufacturer.

John

Posted by John B on May 19, 2009 12:21 pm

#2 -  Renewable Energy > Technical Discussion: Other > Re: Solar recirculating pump system for solar pool heater.
Dan,

The 18V panel will probably operate the pump, but I don't think the Shurflo pump was designed to pump hot water. You may have a problem with plastic parts melting. You can find pumps for that purpose here:
https://store.altestore.com/Solar-Water-Pumps/Circulating-Pumps/c490/

I have been using the El Cid for two years now to circulate hot water without a problem using a 10 Watt panel. The El Cid is about twice as expensive as the Shurflo, but it has the same capacity of about 3 gals per minute, and it pumps it with 10 watts of power instead of the 100 watts the Shurflo pump requires. So when comparing a 10 watt panel to a 100 watt panel your total cost to pump would be less and you don't have to worry about the temperature destroying the pump.

Posted by John B on Mar 13, 2009 12:39 pm

#3 -  Renewable Energy > RE General Discussion > Re: Batteries / Off-Grid
When would you use 12v, 24v, 48v, or 96v batteries for an off-grid system? Is it strictly cost related or is there an advantage of one over the next?

Say for example you plan to use a 3600 watt inverter to provide 120V a/c power. The current from your batteries to the inverter with a 12V system would be 3600/12 or 300A. With a 24V system it would be 150A, and with a 48V system it would be 75A etc.