Any suggestions please

1 Posts
Nov 1, 2004 02:40 pm
Any suggestions please

Hello to all,

I am new to Alternate Energy. I would like to ask your opinions. I want to add a solar system to my oil fired hot air furnace using the same ducts in the floor and walls that are there now. I considered the new Solar Max 240 system, however the south facing wall has too many large panels of sliders and glass casement windows for that installation. I do have a large south facing roof which would easily carry the extra weight, however I cannot imagine how they would connect into the heating ducts in the basement. Maybe there is another idea out there. This is a new home and my wife is critical of how it will look when it is completed.

Thanks,  Rick

462 Posts
Nov 2, 2004 03:19 pm
Re: Any suggestions please

Rick ,..or you could go with solar hot water and install a  heat exchanger coil, that feeds off a solar storage tank, within your plenum, heading out into your ductwork....

Nov 7, 2004 04:48 pm
Re: Any suggestions please

LAST EDITED ON Nov-07-04 AT 05:17 PM (EST)

I am curious, is your hot water heater fuel oil fired as well?
I would agree with TOM6000.
Solar hot air heaters mounted on the roof can take some big flex duct, not to mention if the ducts are long it could be inefficient, like breathing through a long straw would be for us people. If there is not a closet nearby with room to spare for the supply and return ducts then it might be nescessary to run the smaller water pipes from a solar hot water heater to an air handler that use's hot water from the potable hot water heater instead. Maybe even add a second tank for increased storage.
This is why I asked about your existing hot water heater. If it is fuel oil fired as well then you could just do away with the fuel oil air heater, put an air handler in its place that use's hot water from the existing potable water heater and use the solar hot water heater as supplemental hot water.