100% solor energy for bus/and or wind

1 Posts
May 12, 2004 07:47 am
100% solor energy for bus/and or wind

Hello,
I'm new to this and about to convert a 86 gmc
school bus into a home with and addition.
I would like to be totally self contained.

I will be using wood and propane for heating
(I think LOL) I'm doing this on a very low budget and need my monies worth. I will also use oil lamps for some of my lighting as well.
I live in Iowa so we have high winds and lots of sun but snow and it can get very cold.

I'm a newbie and need all the help I can get!
Oh and the bus will be stationary!

Thank You

May 13, 2004 05:00 am
Home is where the heart is.

LAST EDITED ON May-16-04 AT 05:58 PM (EST)

For a time I lived in a 1956 Chevrolet school bus, abit smaller than your GMC, but built like a tank. Its now utilized as a storm shelter here in North Carolina during the huricane season. They just dont build them like they used too.
The first place to start is with figuring just how much electricity you will need in terms of watt hours. Once you have this convert it to amp hours by dividing it by a nominal battery voltage such as 12, 24, or 48. Once you know the amp hours you will need to figure what number that number is 20% of. This will be the battery storage in amp hours. From there its just finding a way to recharge the battery.
Example - If 100 amp hours is needed in a 24 hour period then: 100 is 20% of 500. So a 500 amp hour battery would be needed at the very least.

May 16, 2004 06:46 pm
Re: 100% solor energy for bus/and or wind