Did I architect this right ?

3 Posts
Mar 27, 2011 03:29 pm
Did I architect this right ?

I am new to altE and am very pleased with the site and the education available.
I will be purchasing a new solar system and building the system myself, component by component.
The only thing I am unsure about is how I have architected the system.  So please let me tell you what I have sitting in my altE cart and why and then maybe you can confirm if my choices are good.
I want this system to power my refrigerator and freezer, that’s it.  It will be off-grind only.
The only component I own right now is 4 gel 12v 90ah batteries. Everything else is being considered. I know I will need approx 15 batteries for a complete system but this is what I have today.
A friend suggested this solar panel
http://www.altestore.com/store/Solar-Panels/Sharp-ND-130UJF-130W-12V-Solar-Panel/p6721/
The charge converter I am considering is:
Morningstar Tristar TS-MPPT-60, 60A MPPT Charge Controller
 And the battery monitor I am considering is
Bogart Engineering TM-2020 TriMetric Meter Battery Monitor
And of course the inverter:
Go Power 1000W GP-1000 12V Inverter
What do you think so far ? acceptable choices or can you suggest something different ?
I picked the Morningstar Tristar cause it has the ability to handle 6 of the solar panels above and it can select the sealed/gel battery.
Also, I would connect the panels in parallel, so the volts would be 17.4 total and the amps would be 780
I just want to be sure before I go and do a cart checkout and then learn later on that I missed something
Your comments are welcome
Pete
Columbia, South Carolina

462 Posts
Mar 28, 2011 10:40 am
Re: Did I architect this right ?

Peter, hard to tell without the power demand of the fridge and freezer. How many daily Watts and/or Amps and at what voltage?

3 Posts
Mar 28, 2011 06:30 pm

The calc I came up with is
Refrig = 1200 watt-hours per day
Freezer = 1000 watt-hours per day

462 Posts
Mar 30, 2011 10:45 am