Now what?

2 Posts
Dec 28, 2008 11:56 am
Now what?

I salvaged a solar panel from an electric fence; now what?

I'm not looking for much, maybe a yard light or string of Christmas lights and learn in the process.

The panel is 6v and, in original equipment, charged a 12v battery.

How can I put this to use and learn in the process?

I'm NOT a technician, I'm an artist so be kind.

19 Posts
Dec 29, 2008 12:28 pm
Re: Now what?

If you can provide a bit more information, perhaps we can help. Is there a label on the solar module? If so, give us all the info you can read from it. Dimensions would be helpful in any case. A photo would be good, too. First, you must find out if the thing's still in working order. You can use a simple electric multimeter and test the module under full sunlight. See our video for the how-to:

http://videos.altenergystore.com/

FYI, a 6V module cannot charge a 12V battery. There may have been two of them at some point, or perhaps the module is a dual-voltage type (there are some, but they are uncommon and usually very small, such as the 1.2W unit we sell) and was once wired for 12V output.

To do anything useful with the module, you will likely need at least a module mount of some kind (bracket or pole mount or something), a charge controller, a battery, wiring and possibly some sort of disconnect (a circuit breaker in a small electrical box like the Baby Box works well).

Reply here or call our sales staff for help.

Cheers,

~Ben
AltE

2 Posts
Dec 30, 2008 09:57 am

Hi Ben,

If you can provide a bit more information, perhaps we can help. Is there a label on the solar module?

The panel is a 5 Inch square.
The label reads:
Siemens Solar Industries
Model Bl1414-L
Solar Electric Module
Nom. System Voltage [   6V  ]

find out if the thing's still in working order.

Oh it works. After I removed from fencing and played with it (to see if it worked) it buzzed, pulsed and when I accidentally touched the contacts it gave me a GOOD jolt.