Wind, Solar, Propane Generator Combo

4 Posts
Nov 10, 2008 05:05 pm
Wind, Solar, Propane Generator Combo

Hello All

I am new at renewable energy and have many questions.  My Wife and I are in the process of building a home.  The cost to bring in electricity is about 17k so we thought we might try Off-The-Grid.  We will be going with Wind, Solar, and Propane Generator Combo.  The Whisper 500 from Southwest seems to be the turbine we are leaning toward.  Our property gets quite a bit of wind.

The First of many questions that I have is.  Is there a particular component that ties all three electricity producers together and distributes the power.  What I mean is determine the needs.  Example 1.  Batteries are at full charge and wind is blowing at a good clip so I would like the wind power to feed directly to the house. 

example 2.  No wind, no sun and batteries have dropped to 70% so I would like the Propane generator to kick on to keep the batteries charged.

Or Maybe there is plenty of sun, the batteries are charged and I want the solar to feed directly to the power needs of the house?  I hope I am clear as to what I am asking.

Thank You

Al McCall

« Last Edit: Nov 10, 2008 05:07 pm by Alfred McCall »

15 Posts
Nov 10, 2008 08:02 pm
Re: Wind, Solar, Propane Generator Combo

My Xantrex SW inverter will do what you are wanting and I am sure there are probably others. The new XW series are probably even better.

Dennis

49 Posts
Nov 10, 2008 11:12 pm
Re: Wind, Solar, Propane Generator Combo

I am using 2 sw5548 power panels or its called xantrex sw5548/d except I use the outback mx60 controller recomended because its better than the xantrex controller 11000w. This runs my generator kohler16kw when needed in winter{no transfer switch needed in generator if you have one in power panel. and converts my electric to 110v and 220 v . I spent around 20k for everything