Solar Generator

2 Posts
Feb 27, 2008 10:51 pm
Solar Generator

Hey all i am a true newbie. I am still in college and am interested in seeing if i can build a solar generator for cheep that could run my laptop. I am having trouble finding reliable information on how to build one and where i can get the solar panels. If anybody can help that would be great

26 Posts
Feb 28, 2008 05:02 am
Re: Solar Generator

Hello Natalie
 Just how much is ...cheap?

They have solar laptop cases..

Look in this sites store, under backup power. They have many to choose from.Some of those back up systems will accept solar panel charging such as the Xantrex X1500 Power pack.That unit may be a bit large or pricey compared to what you want (i think its cheap)$299 + Small solar panel $100.00 + controller $55.00.

They have much smaller units that will be even more reasonable than that but you need to think about "run time" of devices and think now ,if you might want to run a couple other things later it may be a bit better to go a little larger off the bat.

If you call the store, They will be more than happy to assist you.They can explain it much better than me and answer any of your questions.

P.S. Solar power can be addicting :>)

Heres a link to the page on backup power systems
http://store.altenergystore.com/Backup-Power/c523/
« Last Edit: Feb 28, 2008 05:10 am by Robert Clay »

2 Posts
Feb 28, 2008 09:29 am

Thank you, it was the solar cases that inspired me to make the generator, i am just looking to see if i can creat a useable generator. I am not looking to actually buy the generator or something like it.

Feb 28, 2008 03:05 pm