watt meter for DC

4 Posts
May 6, 2008 03:05 am
watt meter for DC

i'm starting a full 12V DC solar system and looking for a 12V DC power meter.  seems the kill-a-watt, only works with 120AC.  any ideas?
                    thanks
« Last Edit: May 6, 2008 03:10 am by ryan libre »

May 6, 2008 04:59 am
Re: watt meter for DC

Particularly if the 12 vdc solar system you are planing to create is charging a battery bank off grid? A wise investment for the "here and now" as well as the "long haul" is a meter such as the Bogart Trimetric.
It does not display wattage but it does display amp hours in to and out of the battery on a daily basis as well as an accumulative amp hours out. Minimum and maximum voltages. A little math and you can have your wattages.
I have been utilizing one for more than eight years.
If you consider this, don't just look at the "brochure" and price, download the manual and read through it. It will give you more detailed info about what you can accomplish.

http://www.bogartengineering.com/

4 Posts
May 6, 2008 05:22 am

i'll keep that in mind for the future,  right now my panel and battery cost only 400$. i just run my lights, laptop, fan, and battery charger now.  (off grid) so i think i'll hold off on a 200$ meter for it.    do you or anybody know of a simpler/cheaper device? 
                    thanks

184 Posts
May 6, 2008 09:36 am