Ice free water

Nov 21, 2007 02:33 pm
Ice free water

I'm new to solar energy experimentation.  I would like to make a small system to keep my horse's water warm this winter.  There is no access to electricity so thought solar power would be the way to go.  What do I need to get started?

28 Posts
Nov 21, 2007 03:23 pm
Re: Ice free water

Can I ask a couple of questions first?  First, how much water is in the trough and what's the lowest temperature you want to have ice-free water available?  What temperature do you want to try to keep the water at?  (Just thinking 33º might be a little too cold to drink.)  Assuming you want to keep water available for a number of cloudy days, you'll need batteries, so how many days to you want to guarantee icefree water?  More days = more batteries.

184 Posts
Nov 22, 2007 09:22 pm

What you're suggesting is a solar PV system to be used for resistance heating.  That is usually an expensive way to go.

You might consider circulating water from underground (to warm it), maybe through a series of burried pvc pipes.  A small pump wouldn't use too much energy, and could be powered by a modest solar PV system.  If you decide to pursue that approach, first look into pumps.  Find the power requirements for the pump you choose.  Then it's a simple matter to design a PV system large enough to supply that much power.

John

28 Posts
Nov 23, 2007 02:53 am